20 Gallon Tank Problems with the nitrogen cycle

KianMan
Hey guys! im a newbie here. I just wanted to know, can I start the nitrogen without any bacteria starters or objects from an already established tank? Where I live no one really knows about the nitrogen cycle and a bottle of API bacteria starters are pretty expensive. can I procure the beneficial bacteria from my surroundings? and nobody knows what water testing is over here. I asked at the fish shop the other day and the guy there was blank.Help!!!

Jojo205
Yes!! You just need an ammonia source (fish food, pure ammonia, or fish). I think if I type: Nitrogen Cycle it should be blue and there’s a link explaining it. I’m not sure if there’s a tutorial or not. Objects from a cycled tank speeds up the cycle but is definitely not required.

KianMan
thanks so much Jojo205
I live in goa [ India ] and the fish hobby isn't that big here
if u need stuff related to the nitrogen cycle, you've got to buy it online and amazon keeps only the expensive stuff

Jojo205
Looks like the blue link didn’t show up but it is on your post.
KianMan said:
thanks so much Jojo205
I live in goa [ India ] and the fish hobby isn't that big here
if u need stuff related to the nitrogen cycle, you've got to buy it online and amazon keeps only the expensive stuff
you can 100% just use fish food! I cycled my tank just find without any bacteria starters (i used Tetra safe start toward the end just to speed it up, i was impatient LOL)

Lmg01
KianMan said:
Hey guys! im a newbie here. I just wanted to know, can I start the nitrogen without any bacteria starters or objects from an already established tank? Where I live no one really knows about the nitrogen cycle and a bottle of API bacteria starters are pretty expensive. can I procure the beneficial bacteria from my surroundings? and nobody knows what water testing is over here. I asked at the fish shop the other day and the guy there was blank.Help!!!