problems with ich

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by steveredlakefallsmn, Mar 30, 2010.

1. steveredlakefallsmn

steveredlakefallsmn Valued Member Member

hello im new to this and am wondering if i am doing somthing wrong.i have a 29 gallon tank.i have 5 tiger barbs,4 mollys,an albino rainbow shark,and had 2 pictus cats.i found that i have ich,i have treated it 3 times but still see a problem with it.it is a new tank set up.has been up and running now for 3 weeks,im wooried i will lose more of my fish with this bug.i have turned up the temp to 80 degrees,hoping that will help,but have seen no changes yet.my nitrites are0 nitrates 0 ph 8.0, soft water,alkaline is high.what do i need to do to save my poor fish?

2. midthought

midthought Well Known Member Member

Your nitrites and nitrates are 0? Do you know what your ammonia is at? Are you testing with test strips by any chance, or liquid tests?

When you say you've treated it 3 times, do you mean that you've medicated it until it's gone away and then it's come back each time?

As far as I'm aware, you need to keep temps warm (82 ideally) for 2 weeks or so to properly interrupt the ich bacteria's life cycle. But someone else will jump in with more advice soon, I'm sure.

3. Shawnie

Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

welcome to fishlore!!!!
    Im sorry things are going bad though :(
    At this point, we need to get the tank cycled.....heres a few things to help

-you need a liquid master kit as strips are too unreliable
    -finding some prime conditioner, with daily water changes, will keep the fish safe while that happens...the prime will detox the ammonia/nitrites (which can kill the fish) for 24 hours until your next water change