Problem With Panda Corys

Discussion in 'Corydoras' started by Kryptos, Jun 20, 2019.

1. KryptosNew MemberMember

I seem to be having issues with my panda corys.

Bit of background. I am a total beginner. About three months into the hobby. I put together a tank based on the advice on someone who appeared pretty knowledgeable at a pet store with a very large and healthy looking aquarium section.

I cycled the tank for three weeks before putting any fish in. My ammonia and nitrite values have consistently been 0 using a Colombo liquid test kit.

Latest stats are:

Temp: approx 25.5 degrees C.

pH: 7.05
    KH: 7
    GH: 11
    NH3:0
    NO2: 0
    NO3: 10
    PO4:0.5

This test was done with water sampled close to the bottom for the NH3 and NO2 tests.

The tank is 80L and contains multiple plants that are in a healthy state. I am using a filter with ceramic biostrata and a zeolite element.

There are currently 9 corys in the tank.

They share the tank with:
    3 Guppies
    2 Mollies
    2 Electric blue rams
    2 Mikrogeophagus rams
    2 Neon dwarf rainbows
    2 Yellow platys
    2 Red platys
    2 White sail fin mollies

I put this selection together on the advice of the person at the store as well.

The tank and the substrate as well as one of the worrisome corys are pictured in the images

I have already had one cory die on me. Used to have 10. One or two seem to have lost their barbels and one (I think the one in the picture) just started swimming in the bottom layer of the tank the last week or so which is weird.

I clean the tank every week and replace about 25% water. I vacuum the gravel and trim the plants and remove dead material if I see any. The flow rate causes quite a bit of surface agitation. I use Denerle Aqua Elixer (15ml) and Denerle Bacto Elixer (15 ml) with every water change.

Also I am slowly bringing down the ph and KH with Tetra pH/KH minus. About 3 ml every two days or so after testing these two values.