Help Preparing a tank for my new bettas!

bettanoob

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi there, I am new to keeping bettas. I had fish before and I believed they die partly due to the fact that I never cycle the water before putting them in.

So I would like to clarify some doubts even before I get any new bettas.

Currently my tank is empty. So to prepare a tank for bettas:

1. Fill the tank with tapwater and add a few drops of dechlorine solution

2. Leave the water to age for 48 hours

3. Acclimatize the betta by leaving plastic bag (with the betta inside) to float inside the tank water which I have age for 48 hours.

4. After 1/2 an hour, I pour a bit of the tank water into the floating plastic bag for every 10 minutes.

5. After an additional 1/2 an hour of introducing tank water into the plastic bag every 10 minutes, I release the betta AND the water inside the plastic bag into the tank

Is my above procedure correct? Can any experts guide me? TIA! =)

Charlemagne

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Hi there, and welcome to Fish Lore! Your procedure seems to be pretty much in order, except for one thing: the Nitrogen cycle. It's really reccomended that you cycle without fish. Here's a link that explains it, and has a few methods of fishless cycling.
https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm
One question I have is how big is the tank? Contrary to popular opinion, Bettas really need at least a 2.5 gallon (9.5 liters) tank, and do better in a 5 gallon (20 liter). Here's our Betta care guide, which should help some (I hope!)
https://www.fishlore.com/Articles/betta-fish-care-guide.htm
I hope this information helps! Good luck with your tank!

fbn

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
You do not need to add the water the betta is in. You could be adding some nasties into your tank .

Tigerfishy

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Welcome to fishlore!!