Question Pregnant Platy

Status
Not open for further replies.

jillpenta

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi everyone. I am new to FishLore.com .... Yiiipppeeee for me. I had a question about my pregnant platy. I have her in a 5 gallon tank by herself, everything needed for the fry when they arrive, it's been 4 weeks tomorrow and yet no babies. It's obvious that she is pregnant because I can see them through her tummy. Anyway, my question is.... Is it normal for them to not want to eat or eat very little prior to giving birth? She has been like this for two days now. any advice and or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

OP
J

jillpenta

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Water termp is at a constant 70 degrees. the PH test kit shows it at 7.0 as for the ammonia, nitrates, nitrites i havent checked those. What do i need to get in order to make sure its all good in her tank. My platy has been hanging around the bottom and mid way up the tank. She has been in breeder net for 5 days and has been healthy, She swims around and stuff but just doesnt seem to want her food as she use to. Please forgive me if I sound like a total Dum Dum, as I had said I am new to all this and would really like to make a go of it. Thanks for your help. (Apparently I didnt research enough) LOL..

bass master

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years