Pregnant Platy?

1. Daylight Member Member

So I just found one little fry hanging around one of my java ferns and I was wondering which one of my female platies are pregnant? Is it normal that a female platy give birth to only one fry?

Here some pictures:

1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg
  2. BottomDweller Fishlore VIP Member

She looks like she isn't finished giving birth

3. Daylight Member Member

Which one cause the first and second picture are different females and I was wondering which one was pregnant
  4. BottomDweller Fishlore VIP Member

Both of them look like they are about to give birth

5. BeanFish Well Known Member Member

If there are males in the tank they will always be pregnant. Those 2 Platys look in the late pregnancy stage. I dont think your Platy gave birth to just one fry, probably they ate all their fry and just that one managed to survive.
  6. Daylight Member Member

How can you tell, I am new to breeding fish and I don't know how a gravid spot looks like
  7. jonahdough Initiate Member

Hi! I have been breeding livebearers for several years. All of the fish in the pictures appear to be pregnant. The gravid spot is a dark round spot near the anal vent.

8. Daylight Member Member

would the spot be visible on the side or on the bottom?
  9. jonahdough Initiate Member

The spot would be visible from the side. It might not be too noticeable but if you look closely you will see.
  10. Sarah73 Fishlore VIP Member

Here's how you know if your female is pregnant... If you have a male and female, the female will get pregnant. heheheheheheh simple as that. Now a gravid spot is dark and black. It shows the babies eyes. Very tiny. The parents will eat their fry if they can catch them.

11. jonahdough Initiate Member

12. Sarah73 Fishlore VIP Member

Yes, she is pregnant. She will be giving birth very soon if not already.

It's all good. :) If you want to raise the fry you can get a breeder net or another tank (cycled).
  13. Daylight Member Member