Pregnant Oto Catfish?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leafray

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to this chat so hello everyone.
About a month ago, I got five Oto Catfishes, about a week earlier, I noticed that one of them had a slightly swollen stomach. The stomach gets gradually larger. I have read several threads and found signs that they were pregnant. The only problem I have is that none of the other catfish are showing any breeding behavior. Yesterday, the " pregnant " catfish has begun to just sit there and barely move. Right now, they are kept in a well established ( 3 year old ) 20 gallon tank. There's lots of alagae and its densely planted. Along with the 5 catfish, there are two BN Plecos and three guppies, so imo it's not overcrowded. I am desperate to l ow if my Oto is good, is it sick? Or is it just pregnant.
Thanks

Coradee

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to Fishlore
Oto's don't get pregnant as they're egg layers, it's possible it has eggs though them spawning in captivity is quite rare.
Can you get a picture of it?

OP
L

Leafray

Valued Member
Reaction score
Thanks guys, my Otos are in a tank where I position the lights so I can get a half dark and half bright feeling. The bright side has a bunch of algae and the Otos love it there, they also love my Java moss and the shrimp pellets I drop in there. As for healthy? All my Otos have full stomachs, but this one in piticular is super swollen.... I'll try to get a pic.

Not sure how to add pics...

ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1438900279.769354.jpgImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1438900307.151279.jpg
Sorry the pics are a bit blurry, my guppies want all the attention you can see the algae. There is a belly view and a side view.

Last edited by a moderator:

Cameron090601

Reaction score