Pregnant Oto Catfish?

1. L

Leafray Valued Member Member

Hi,
    I am new to this chat so hello everyone.
    About a month ago, I got five Oto Catfishes, about a week earlier, I noticed that one of them had a slightly swollen stomach. The stomach gets gradually larger. I have read several threads and found signs that they were pregnant. The only problem I have is that none of the other catfish are showing any breeding behavior. Yesterday, the " pregnant " catfish has begun to just sit there and barely move. Right now, they are kept in a well established ( 3 year old ) 20 gallon tank. There's lots of alagae and its densely planted. Along with the 5 catfish, there are two BN Plecos and three guppies, so imo it's not overcrowded. I am desperate to l ow if my Oto is good, is it sick? Or is it just pregnant.
    Thanks

2. Coradee

Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Welcome to Fishlore :)
    Oto's don't get pregnant as they're egg layers, it's possible it has eggs though them spawning in captivity is quite rare.
    Can you get a picture of it?

3. Anders247

Anders247 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to fishlore Leafray!
    Agreed with Coradee.
    A round oto is a healthy oto, I have read..... is yours just eating well?

4. C

Cameron090601 New Member Member

Very healthy otos have fat bellies, starving ones have sunken bellies. Good news is yours is very very healthy ☺

5. OP
    OP
    L

Thanks guys, my Otos are in a tank where I position the lights so I can get a half dark and half bright feeling. The bright side has a bunch of algae and the Otos love it there, they also love my Java moss and the shrimp pellets I drop in there. As for healthy? All my Otos have full stomachs, but this one in piticular is super swollen.... I'll try to get a pic.

Not sure how to add pics...

ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1438900279.769354.jpg ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1438900307.151279.jpg