Pregnant or well fed?

leaadams

69E9630B-2AC9-465D-802A-78B15A6E622E.pngHi everyone! Fish Newbie here. We have had our aquarium for just under 2 months now. It’s not a big setup 30L tank with two filters (overhead and sponge), 3 platys (2F & 1M), 2 black widow tetras and 1 Cory. I’ve done lots of reading /research on water parameters & tank is cycled, water conditions good :)
Anyhow, one of our orange platys has a nice round belly on her. she does love her food (they all do!). They get fed Hikari micro pellets once a day. She’s been with our male blue platy since the pet shop 7 weeks ago so she could be pregnant.
But she hasn’t got the dark/black gravid spot on her so I’m not too sure….She is quite a big bigger than the male & same size when we got them same time. The male follows her everywhere. I just want to prepare for fry (possibly use a breeding box at the last moment) to avoid fry getting eaten by the others.
We only have artificial plants in the aquarium & hoping to get some advice from platy breeders as to what I’m in for!
I was planning on using the breeding box for as minimal a time and transfer the babies into another ready cycled tank. Just won’t know when to expect fry!
Thank you!

Attachments

• F301E1C9-2CA8-48FA-B6E3-CAD05508F0E8.png
    F301E1C9-2CA8-48FA-B6E3-CAD05508F0E8.png
    775.4 KB · Views: 12
  • E2041452-B409-48FF-B3FC-367DCE013B20.png
    E2041452-B409-48FF-B3FC-367DCE013B20.png
    768.5 KB · Views: 12

CrackerboxPalace

Hi, female platys are almost always pregnant, especially within 4 months of exposure to mature males. So yes she's most likely pregnant, congrats :)

I'm surprised she hasn't given birth at least once yet, it usually doesn't take much longer than a month for fry to appear. Maybe they all got eaten overnight :(