pregnant mollies

1. becca470 Initiate Member

hey I have to female pregnant mollies I one has already had there fry I managed to save 10/11 and have put them in a breeding net till they are big enough not to be eaten by my other fish I'm new to this first time fish owner I just need tips etc
    and when will I be able to tell the sex of the babies, I have a male swordtail fish that has breed with my female with the babies that are male grow the sword tail, also how much would I sell them for as my tank will be very crowded once my other one has her babies
    Also is it normal for the pregnant females to poo a lot there constantly pooing sorry :)

all tips and advice would be greatful

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

2. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Congratulations on your fry.
    Unfortunately as livebearers are so prolific they have little monetary value unless you have an unusual colour strain.
    Some Lfs will give you store credit for them but most won't & some won't even take them at all.
    You could advertise them on local fish selling groups on Facebook but don't expect to get much for them.
    How much are you feeding them? More food = more poo, as long as it's not white & stringy there shouldn't be anything to worry about.
    You should be able to sex them once they're a few weeks old though some males can be late developers.
    Be aware they can start reproducing as early as 3 months old

3. becca470 Initiate Member

thanks for your reply I feed them a little bit in the morning and then again at night there was one part today where it was like white see through kind off looking and then the next one was green and that was from the pregnant female what does the white mean ?

4. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

White stringy poo can be a sign of several things internal parasites & constipation, as long as it's not constantly white & stringy there shouldn't be anything to worry about.