Pregnant guppy?

JMI6

Reaction score
Im new at this My lfs told me it was a male but from its coloring and growing belly i dont think it is. With its growing belly i was wondering if my guppy is pregnant? .

Attachments

SeaMonkey06

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
JMI6 said:
Im new at this My lfs told me it was a male but from its coloring and growing belly i dont think it is. With its growing belly i was wondering if my guppy is pregnant? .
It looks to me like it might be a female fish because of her body and fin shapes. This doesn't necessarily mean it's pregnant, though it would be the most likely explanation as guppies breed like crazy and she's HUGE.
Do you have any birds-eye view pictures of your guppy? Is it acting sluggish compared to the others?
Do you have any other guppies in the tank with it? (sorry for all the questions)

crazycracker

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Dang! She looks like shes about to explode! I dont think that's a male! She's as big as my pregnant cousin!

JMI6

Reaction score
So while i was taking a birds eye view i noticed one baby swimming around. Is it possible there is more hiding? What do i do with it since i have other fish in tank if i want a chance of survival?

mimo91088

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
That's a pregnant female all right. What are the tank mates? If it's just the guppies, most of the fry will survive even if you just leave them alone.

JMI6

Reaction score

JMI6

Reaction score
Is it abnormal to only see 1 at this time. Didnt see it until i was trying to take birds eye view of my guppy with flash on then it appeared

mimo91088

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
JMI6 said:
Glo danio and cory cat and the guppy
I'd just leave them be, unless you want a ton of guppies. At least a few will survive without you doing anything if there's hiding spots.

mimo91088

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
JMI6 said: