pre packaged plants

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by Nick Della Rocca, Sep 8, 2014.

1. Nick Della Rocca

Nick Della RoccaValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Experience:
    Just started
    Anyone have any experience buying the pre packaged plants from Petcoor any other chain store?

2. bolivianbaby

bolivianbabyFishlore LegendMember

Ratings:
    +67
    Experience:
    5 years
    I am by no means a plant expert (they either grow or die-no in between), but from what I have heard from more experienced plant members, most of the plants they sell at Petco are not true aquatic plants.

My best advice would be to research the plants you want carefully and verify that you are getting the species you think you are getting.

Because of my lack of plant knowledge, I buy mine from the local auctions and one of my dearest friends, who sells them.

I hope this helps until more knowledgeable members come along.

3. Kindafishy

KindafishyValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    Experience:
    2 years
    I have gotten some from Petsmart. They are the ones that are grown emersed and in a nutrient gel. They may melt a bit in an aquarium setting, but mine haven't. In fact the only problem I've had with these is that my snails have liked them a little too well

4. Delaneyw

DelaneywWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +23
    Experience:
    Just started
    I have a sword and some staurogyne repens from the gel packs at Petsmart. I experienced no melt and actually have some decent growth! Best of all? No pest snails! The gel was kind of yucky to rinse off, but no real issues. They seem to be a little more expensive sometimes, but I will pay more for snail free plants.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2014
  5. FiscCyning

FiscCyningWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +157
    Experience:
    More than 10 years