Power Outage What Should I Do?

1. JesseMoreira06 Well Known Member Member

Hey , I've been keeping fish for 5+ years and never had to deal with a power outage , I have 8 aquariums , one is currently housing my corydora fry , my QT tank is housing my fancy goldfish that had dropsy been in treatment for 8 days and he is doing much better but his temp is at 80f and their is medication ughhhhh. What steps should I take? I have no idea how long it's been I just woke up and their was no electricity, I called the city they said their doing maintenance in my area they don't know for sure when it'll be back on today. What about all my cycled media? What about surface agitation to create oxygen for my fish?

Thank in advance

2. BottomDweller Fishlore VIP Member

I wish we could go 5 years without a power cut! We get them all the time.
    Basically on the tanks with more delicate fish I'll do a small water change every 2 hours. When you put the new water in try to create as much surface agitation as possible. The new water should be the temperature the tank is meant to be at so if the tank has cooled a bit then the new water will help warm it up.
    I get all the filter media and put it in a bucket. If you've got a battery powered air pump then put an airstone in there but if not just scoop out some water every so often and pour it back in to oxygenate the water.
    Wrap blankets around the tanks to keep them warm. For smaller tanks putting hand warmers around them can help.

3. KinsKicks Well Known Member Member