Pothos question

Rose of Sharon
Hi,

I would like to add a pothos to my tank. It will be the only live plant in my tank, or rather, the roots will be in the tank with the leaves hanging off the back.

If I have pretty low amount of nitrates in my tank, will a pothos plant still thrive? My betta doesn't have a very big bioload, and I have pleanty of Indian Almond Leaves in my tank.

The tank is a 5 gallon, and has been up and running since Christmas. It is fully cycled, with a filter and heater.

Water parameters are - ammonia - 0, nitrite - 0, and nitrate - less than 3 ppm's

Thanks in advace!

Kribensis27
That sounds fine. It might not grow as fast, but it certainly won't die. Adding some planted tank ferts on occasion would be helpful if it ever looks like it needs more nutrients.

Rose of Sharon
Ok, thanks!

Can you recommend a brand of fertilizer? Since I am new to this, I don't know exactly what to look for.

Kribensis27
I use this for my tank with good results. I'm sure there are better fertilizers, but this is just a good one I've found. Others can probably advise you better on this matter, though.
Easy Green All-in-One Fertilizer

mattgirl
Lots of folks do recommend the Easy Green from aquarium co-op. When I run out of Thrive C I will get a bottle of it myself. You may want to get a small syringe to dose it since it recommends one pump per 10 gallons. Each pump is supposed to dispense 1ml. For your 5 gallon tank you will only need 1/2ml.

Flyfisha
With no other plants in a tank I would not rush out and buy fertiliser for pothos?
Pothos needs the oxygen and fresh water that is in any fish tank. It struggles in a jar of stagnant tap water with no movement and fish poop but it will grow until the jar runs out of water.
Seriously if you keep adding new tank water once a month pothos will stay alive in a stagnant jar of water. It will thrive in any fish tank with all the fish waste and a constant level of water.