Possible Tank Loadout

Size of tank

• 29g

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 55g

Votes: 7 100.0%

• Total voters
ZaneGreay
So I am new to aquariums and have been doing a lot of research, but I was curious of what other people thought of my ideas for a planted tank I want to do. I have some fish that most people don't commonly put together but I have seen it done. So it's not totally unheard of.

Here is what I am thinking and all that I have so far are working great together in a 10g
1. One Half Moon male Betta
2. Four glass cats
3. Three bristlenose plecos

Now comes what I want to add and the main reasons I'm not sure.

1. Four more glass cats
2. Eight ember tetras
3. Two otocinclus catfish
And last but not least and my main concern and something I will have to take caution adding with my Betta is possibly two German blue Rams a male and female. Now all of them will be added slowly and gauged to make sure they get along before the next fish will be added.

But on to my main questions! Beside the thoughts on the combo loadout is.

1. Should I use a 29 gallon or 55g?

2 should I use one hob filter that can do the whole tank or two smaller ones, Eg using a fluval 70 vs 2 fluval 30s or Use a sump or canister?

sorry for rambling lol and many thanks ahead of time for your advice and answers.

georgelee1000
Three Bristlenose should NOT be in a 10 gal tbh. 1 will barely fit.

29 gal hob should be alright. 55 gal I would do a canister. AI'm for 10x gph.

Jocelyn Adelman
For the 3 bristle I would go with the 55. Also the schools will appear nicer vs the shorter length of the 29.

Keep in mind both these are deeper tanks... the filtration needed may not be suitable for the betta

ZaneGreay
Three Bristlenose should NOT be in a 10 gal tbh. 1 will barely fit.

Even if the bristlenose are about .5"?

For the 3 bristle I would go with the 55. Also the schools will appear nicer vs the shorter length of the 29.