Possible Parasite?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Aquadisiac, Jul 21, 2015.

1. A

Aquadisiac New Member Member

Hi everyone, I've been a long time lurker although recently new member of this forum. For some background, I've recently gotten back into fish keeping after about 8 years so I'm not a complete novice although I am definitely not an expert by any means. What brings me here today is I have noticed something abnormal in my tank. It is a 30g FW tank with a few small green corydoras and one flame dwarf gourami. The tank was cycled prior to adding them. I use the API FW testing kit (parameters: 0, 0, 10) and it is set at 79 degrees.

The unusual thing I have noticed is long, white-ish feces and I worry it may be some internal parasite. I have included a picture below of one caught on a decoration. I never had to deal with parasites in my prior experience so I'm not familiar with what it could be or the best way to approach treatment. Thank you all for your help.

fish.jpg

2. ClearEyes

ClearEyes Well Known Member Member

Long, stringy feces is definitely a warning sign of internal parasites, but what I see in the picture is just normal fish poop.

3. Jswin

Jswin Well Known Member Member

I think it's normal. My gourami will do that if it eats a lot of plant matter. Are the fish acting normal/eating regular? If so its probably diet related.

4. Matt68046

Matt68046 Valued Member Member

White mucous poop is a sign of many diffrent internal problems, parasites as well as bacteria. Now weather its just diet/stress related that idk. I don't really know how gourami's are suppose to act, but any unusual behavior? Flashing, scratching floating abnormally?

5. OP
    OP
    A

No, no abnormal activity. I think I may try switching up his diet and see if that helps first before jumping the gun on medication.

6. M

MtnTiger Well Known Member Member

What are you feeding them?

7. OP
    OP
    A