Possible Ich On Glass Catfish

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Leafy, Apr 8, 2019.

1. Leafy

LeafyNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +9
    Experience:
    2 years
    Hi all,

100% newbie here; first post!

Over the last few months I've set up my first 37g freshwater tank. It's a betta sorority tank, and the second to the last addition were my glass catfish. Last week I added some live plants.

The tank itself may be slightly overstocked, but not by much.

4 female bettas
    5 glass catfish
    6 glow light tetras
    1 bushynose pleco
    2 nerite snails

Everyone is peaceful, and nobody seems stressed. There are lots of caves for everyone to choose a "territory" and I've put fake lily pads at the top to provide shade for the tetras and the catfish.

Yesterday, I found one catfish with two dots on it. I've had tanks before, I've had to deal with ich in the past, and I've successfully treated for it. The problem is I've never had ich in a tank with invertebrates and scaleless fish. None of the fish seem to be scratching (knock on wood).

Since yesterday I've raised my water temp from 78 to 84 degrees, 1 degree every few hours. I'm a little scared to raise the temp all the way to 86. The most sensitive fish I have are the glass catfish. I know everyone else can handle it.

I've been testing my water daily since I put the plants in. Everything looks good, except the water is harder than the catfish like.

3 questions:
    1. Does the picture look like ich? (Sorry I couldn't get a better picture.) I've only seen the 2 dots in the last 24 hours.
    2. How do I treat it if it's ich? I'm worried about the catfish and the snails.
    3. Could it be anything else?

Sorry about the long post. Thank you so much in advance for any responses.

Attached Files:

2. Charlaboo

CharlabooValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +26