Possible Cichlid Build Help

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Stryphe89, Apr 23, 2018.

1. Stryphe89New MemberMember

Hey guys! I recently posted asking for centerpiece ideas for a peaceful community tank.
    Well, it seems that things are going to have to be.. um, redesigned. My husband decided shortly after that he wanted to upgrade to a 120 gallon. Hey, who am I to argue with the man? Anyway, we're moving the community tank to the 120g (Yay! Bigger schools!), and now I have a 46g (?) to play with.
    I'm thinking that I want to do an african cichlid tank. I've kept some SA/CA cichlids before but I have no experience with African Cichlids. I'm thinking that I would like to keep Dwarf Mbuna. I've been doing some research but keep finding conflicting information.
    So, this is where you lovely folks come in! I'm hoping to get some ideas from people who have personal experience with them.

Tank footprint is 36x15x18.

How many can I keep in this size tank? I know they suggest overstocking to decrease aggression...?

Can I mix different types? Some sources say you can mix dwarf species and some say not to.

Can I stock other fish with them? What about a clean up crew? The horror stories...

What type of rocks and substrate would you recommend? I've read limestone is a good choice to harden the water.

What about lighting and filter? Is a canister best? And what about creating waterflow? Is it necessary?

Etc., etc., etc...

So you know, I'm only asking about everything. Lol

Thank you guys in advance for any input you have for me. There's an overwhelming amount of information out there, and it's hard to sort the good from the bad, sometimes.

2. fissh

fisshWell Known MemberMember