Possible Blackeye In Goldfish?

1. Goldiemom

Goldiemom Well Known Member Member

My calico telescope eye is eating well and swimming fine . However, he has a swollen ring around his eye. Can a Goldie get a black eye? Looks like someone punched him in the eye.

Attached Files:

2. penguin02

penguin02 Well Known Member Member

I'm not an expert and I probably can't help much, but can you link some pictures of before you noticed this? It's kind of hard to tell rn because the fish already has black spots :)

3. OP
    OP
    Goldiemom

Here’s some pics before the injury.

Attached Files:

4. LilBlub

LilBlub Well Known Member Member

That’s very strange. Telescopes do tend to be susceptible to weird eye injuries. I looked into it and an injury can cause redness and swelling around a telescope’s eye. They recommend Stress Coat. Has he improved any since you posted this?

5. OP
    OP
    Goldiemom

He has gotten a little better. It’s slowly going down. I have been doing Epsom salt dips. Thanks for asking and the tip on the Stress Coat. Will definately do!

6. LilBlub

That’s what I used with my oranda, it actually works really well! I’m glad your guy seems to be improving. I’ve never seen something like that before! I wonder what he hurt himself on.

7. OP
    OP
    Goldiemom

I think it was a big fake piece of driftwood. I moved it over to the tropical tank. I already have my black moor in QT for popeye due to scraping it while spawning. I had already suspected the driftwood was the culprit. After this one got injured I decided it just wasn’t worth it. The tropicals are little and seem to be loving the driftwood. Worked out well.

8. LilBlub

Fancy goldfish are so high maintenance... I’ve had to remove a decoration, plants, and all my gravel. If they can hurt themselves on something, they eventually will. It’s like having a tank full of clumsy puppies!

9. OP
    OP
    Goldiemom