Poorly platy

stevieb

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I've a platy fish that over the last 2/3 days o noticed his top fin to be down then this morning found him sitting on the bottom. Few hours later he looks bent over and swimming in circles at best.
I'm new to the fish hobby and been struggling to get my tank to cycle but been doing 25 to 50 % water changes every two days.
Today is the first time ive seen nitrites showing on my test. I've the api test kit.
Tank is only a 20lt, which I know is way to small for two platy fish. If I would of known what I know now I would of done things differently.
Is there anything I can do to help my platy out or is it to late?? Thanks.

Shadyrockstar91

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Welcome to the forum,

Don't worry about the overstock, I also overstocked my tank due to poor advice by the LFS! Platy's are fairly active middle swimmers so if they are just swimming in circles and or sitting at the bottom, it could be a couple of things.

What API test kit are you using? Strips or Fresh water master test kit. I would personally recommend the latter.

It could be a WQ issue, Ammonia poisoning (How are your other fish acting? Gasping for air at the surface?) Also they could have Swim Bladder Infection which can be treated fairly easily. Have you ever noticed them swimming upside down? Have a look at this link. http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/features/articles/how-to-solve-a-problem-like-swimbladder-disease.

Do a 50-70% Water change and add Seachem Prime which de-cloraintes the water and detoxifies Ammonia + Nirite for 24 hours so your filter can deal with it. I would suggest you have a filter rated for double the amount of water your aquarium can hold.

I hope someone more qualified can perhaps add to my answer.

stevieb

Reaction score
Experience
Just started