Poorly platy! Please help

sheilashoelady

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Hi and welcome to FishLore!

Unfortunately, I think it may be an issue of overcrowding still. The mollies and kribs should be in a bigger tank really, and may be getting aggressive before of territorial issues.

How long has your tank been set up?
How did you cycle it?
What are your current water parameters?

Your platy's fins are clamped, which definitely shows she is stressed, and moving her into the breeder box may stress her out. If you have a quarantine/hospital tank I would move her into there for now.

jfriend33

Valued Member
Reaction score
I'm no beginner but also no expert. Maybe it's ich? You could possibly treat with preferably epsom or canning salt (if not table salt would work and isn't the best). You would treat it at 2 to 3 tablespoons per gallon. Then you can also raise the tank temperature a few degrees. Do this for 7 to 10 days minimum. Hopefully the symptoms will improve. Then begin water changes of 50 percent every week.

You'll have to convert to metric for my measurements. A simple Web search or someone else will confirm them. It's possible new fish introduced this issue. Then again fish most generally carry ich but introducing new fish can bring on these symptoms.

What were all your water parameters? Ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, pH, etc? What temp are you currently at?

endlercollector

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Please take the kribensis out ASAP. They need a much larger tank (about 200 liters) and a meter long, as they are too territorial to play well with your livebearers. If these two are a breeding pair, they definitely need to go elsewhere. If you don't have a QT set up, you could put this platy in a breeder net for now and put some floating plants in there to reduce her stress. Some people use Melafix, but she'll probably get better fast on her own once you get those kribs out of there.

miss g

Reaction score