Polished River Rock as substrate? Total newbie to this!

Rose of Sharon
I am currently thinking about setting up a new tank and aquascaping for the first time. I am thinking maybe something in the 20 gallon long size. Before I get started, and I am looking at a ton of options. This will be my very first, true aquascape.

I love the look of polished river rock. I have seen it in some aquarium pics, and I just think it is cool.

Here is a link to an amazon page showing what I am talking about. Being unfamiliar with all of this, I don't know if river rock is the right name. This is just an example of what I am thinking about putting down as a substrate.

https://www.amazon.com/SACKORANGE-A...hed+rocks+for+aquariums&qid=1621433220&sr=8-6

Would this work for a planted tank? Or should I be considering something else, like an aqua soil? Would this substrate limit what type of fish I can have? I am leaning towards a betta sorority, but I am not completely sold on that idea yet. Would this totally rule out corys if I use this as my substrate?

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement
AggressiveAquatics
River rocks are more for decoration than substrate. You can do sand with river rocks on top as a type of “path”. Just because I don’t think plants would be rooted very well in that

Rose of Sharon
River rocks are more for decoration than substrate. You can do sand with river rocks on top as a type of “path”. Just because I don’t think plants would be rooted very well in that
Ok, thank! I was thinking that would be the case. There are so many substrates on the market, it's hard to wrap your head around it if you are doing this for the first time!

awilkinson871