Pls help me is my guppy pregnant??

1. Jaxxosuna

Jaxxosuna Valued Member Member

Hi I bought 2 guppies yesterday.
    She's been hiding all day on the top next to the heater or in the other corner next to the filter. The boy has been chasing her too. She has a very black spot on her belly. But it's my first time having a guppy so I need to know that way I can put her in my breeding tank. Thanks for your help. ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1407736448.856179.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

2. Flowingfins

Flowingfins Fishlore VIP Member

She is definitely pregnant:)!you should not put her in the net/box until her belly looks like this\___/. Also you should really get another female or two because the boy will stress her out so much she may absorb the fry.

3. junebug

junebug Fishlore Legend Member

If you have a whole separate tank for breeding, you can actually put her in now. Leave her there for 6 months and she'll give you hundreds of fry, just be prepared and have a plan for them. Make sure you don't put her in a breeding trap until her belly is large and square. :)

4. Flowingfins

Forgot to mention that... Thanks junebug.

5. OP
    OP
    Jaxxosuna

Do you have any idea why she's isolating herself so much?? So she's not due anytime soon right? Until she gets huge ? lol
    Thank you so much. I didn't think she was since she's so skinny & when I bought her she was only with females.

6. OP
    OP
    Jaxxosuna

I am using a 5.5 gallon for the breeding. I have a pregnant mollie also. But she doesn't have a black spot yet she's just huge so she's still in the main tank.
    Thank you guys I appreciate it.

7. junebug

Mollies don't always look "gravid" in the same way guppies do. You may never see a gravid spot. However both these species are likely to eat their fry, so if you want to keep the fry, you'll have to do something about that.