Plecostomus eat neons?

AcornTheBetta

Dominic9608 said:
Can plecostomus eat neon tetras? The neons are disappearing.
Depends, what type of pleco? If you don't know send pics and I'll try to id it. Also, what is the full stocking of the tank? What size is the tank? Did you cycle it? What filter are you running?

Dominic9608

AcornTheBetta said:
Depends, what type of pleco? If you don't know send pics and I'll try to id it. Also, what is the full stocking of the tank? What size is the tank? Did you cycle it? What filter are you running?
Hi... I'm new to the aquarium world..2 weeks now. Adopted 5 rainbow fish, had 3 neon tetras (now only 1), and 2 plecostomus. It's a 60 gal tank U got from my cousin. The filter system has 2 flows/filters that is mildly flowing, a heater (at 74°), a bubbling system. The 6" plecostomus are very dark brown, has whiskers (1 whisker on each side of the mouth), and dark, round spots that are very pronounced on it's underside. Forgive me, I'm not sure what "cycle" means. Thanks for taking the time to help me. Took pic but picistmys hid behind plants.

Attachments

Dominic9608

Dominic9608 said:
Hi... I'm new to the aquarium world..2 weeks now. Adopted 5 rainbow fish, had 3 neon tetras (now only 1), and 2 plecostomus. It's a 60 gal tank U got from my cousin. The filter system has 2 flows/filters that is mildly flowing, a heater (at 74°), a bubbling system. The 6" plecostomus are very dark brown, has whiskers (1 whisker on each side of the mouth), and dark, round spots that are very pronounced on it's underside. Forgive me, I'm not sure what "cycle" means. Thanks for taking the time to help me. Took pic but picistmys hid behind plants.

Attachments

mattgirl

If the plecos you have look like this one I feel sure they will soon out grow your tank but to answer your question, no I don't think they will go after live neons but will eat them if they have died.

Dennis57