Pleco suggestions for a 55 gallon planted tank?

MommyGourami

I'm in the process of planning out my 55 gallon planted tank. It's cycling right now, has lots of driftwood, a sand substrate, and large river rocks, and we're pretty set on having a moonlight gourami or two for the top. What are your favorite plecos for a tank this size? I am new to plecos and have been scoping out that fantastic range of species out there. We'd ideally like a pleco we'd see around the tank (either by night or day) that is compatible with tropical fish temps (around 77-78 degrees F). We were seriously considering something like a Blue Phantom Pleco or a starlight pleco. We like Rubberlip plecos (can't resist the cute-looking face) but I understand they tend to like cooler temps. We love the look of Gold Nugget Plecos but we feel that fish deserves a 75 gallon and wouldn't be totally comfortable keeping him in a 55 long term.

What are you faves? Let's hear 'em!

Ouse

My personal instinct would be to use a bristlenose. Reaches six inches, is very easily sought, and the form found in aquaria is beyond requiring any specific water parameters.

MommyGourami

I do love bristlenoses! They come in plenty of different colorways, too, and I find the funky eldritch tentacles charming. ;) We might just end up researching a few different 'good fit' species then check out what my LFS has available when we're ready to take one home. They tend to have an excellent selection, but it's good to go prepared.

BigManAquatics

A 55 would be a good size to have a male and a couple female bn plecos in to breed as well.

awilkinson871

I have a rubberlip in my 55 gallon. The initial plan was for a BN but there havent been many for sale here in the last 6 months. I have had no issues with the temp even though the tank is 78 with the summer going on. I think they have a cute face too...when it comes out so I can see it.

kallililly1973