Pleco Identification

1. G

Guppppppppy New Member Member

What kind of pleco is this ??

Attached Files:

2. Dch48

Dch48 Well Known Member Member

Kind of looks like a clown and if it is, they aren't great algae eaters and actually eat driftwood.

3. OP
    OP
    G

Thanks, the pleco spends all day on the drift wood, so he probably is a clown

4. v

varmint Well Known Member Member

I would say Clown also. They do eat driftwood and can make a mess of your tank.

5. scarface

scarface Well Known Member Member

It’s not a Clown. That I know for certain. Based on the head, it looks carnivorous, and thus, a species belonging in the genus Hypancistrus. Maybe it’s a Chocolate Zebra Pleco, but I’m not really sure, and I’m not very good with L-numbers. I wouldn’t be surprised if the common name covers several different types. Can you get a better pic?

6. Dch48

I would still say Clown. There are different variations of Clown Pleco and I found some pictures on line that look exactly like the one shown here. A couple of them came from this very site.

7. wodesorel

wodesorel Valued Member Member

I agree wirh scarface, not a clown - the eye shape and pattern is wrong, as is the curve of the nose. It is hard to tell from the photo, but clowns have a noticeable rough texture from head to toe.

8. Dch48

Look up images. The patterning on Clowns can vary greatly.

9. scarface

It’s the shape of the head and the eyes that tells me it isn’t even in the genus Panaque or Panaqolus. My best guess is Hypancistrus. @chromedome52 any ideas?

10. C

Coptapia Valued Member Member

It's a young Gold Spot, Pterygoplichthys joselimaianus. They grow to about 15" total length. They're mainly herbivores in nature but will eat anything in a tank (including algae).

If you could count its dorsal fin rays you'll see it has more than 10, characteristic of Pterygoplichthys (at this size you'd probably need to count them in a photo).

11. scarface

Looks like it.

12. DoubleDutch