Help please help what size tank should i get

Status
Not open for further replies.

tropicalfish1981

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
xhello everyone i am new to tropical fish keeping and i am unsure what size fish tank i should get. when i get my tank i hope to be purchasing 3 angelfish, 8 neon tetras and 6 guppys. i also would like some algae eating fish but i dont know that much about them so what type would be best. would all of these fish get on together OK. thanks and please help

peacemaker92

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hello and Welcome to Fishlore!

Nice stocking list plan. But since you want to get some algae eating fish, I'd advise to replace the guppies with some ottos. You could get 5 of them and do nicely. And it's also advisable to have a pair of Angels rather than 3 of them as territorial issues will appear once they mature and one might get left out. For your size tank, you could get a 55 gallon? The bigger the better More responses from our other members are on the way, hang tight!

JRDroid

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
get the biggest tank you can afford/fit. The general rule you are supposed to have one gallon of water per inch of fish. and i believe that is between 35 and 40 inches of fish so you would need at least that many gallons of water. Also i would get one a little bigger than that because you are going to want more fish after you get started. As far as algae eaters it really depends on what size tank you get on what is best for you. I personally really like oto's.

Prince Powder

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello and welcome to Fishlore!

Before considering any fish there are a few links I'd like to give you which have some very important information on fishkeeping.

https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm The nitrogen cycle. It is extremely important to the health of your fish that you read and understand this.