Please help, unknown outbreak in my tank....5 fish dead in 9 days

fishluvr82

Hello everyone I am brand new to the forum. Let me start off by saying that I have many years of experience keeping tropical and freshwater fish. Growing up from the time I was 12 until I was about 22 I kept several tanks, which were either freshwater community tanks, goldfish tanks, African cichlid and Tiger oscar tanks. I stopped my fish hobby in 2004 after my tiger oscar dexter and my pleco died. At the time that was our only tank. We had sold the other 3. So I decided it was time to sell that one too and it wasn't until almost exactly a year ago today that I started keeping fish again. It all starated with me trying to save an incredibly sick betta from walmart. I didn't have the heart to leave him there in that dirty cup to suffer and die. He had severe bacterial infections on both sides of his body and hardly any fins or tail left. I tried my hardest to save him but he died 2 days later. I then got 2 more bettas from walmart who were pretty healthy when I got them just after they had been shipped to the store. I only had 1 for 2.5 weeks, and the other for 4 months. I ended up at one point having 3 tanks and started buying more fish.....platies, gourami's, mollies, guppies, cory cats, plecos, swordtail, danios, ram cichlids, rainbowfish, etc. Let me also say that my tank has a very good hob filter with 4 different kinds of media and an adjustable flow rate and filter foam around the tubing so fish can't get sucked into it. I also have a very good and reliable adjustable heater and I currently have 3 thermometers. 1 glass that has a suction cup, and two different digital thermometers, all of which are always close in readings... my tank usually stays in the high range 78 to low range 79 degrees. I had a lot of fish in my 30 gallon tank but that's because I was going to upgrade to a 55 gallon so it was very temporary. My dwarf gourami who was very healthy when I bought him died of dwar