Please help! Sick fish.

1. anz Member Member

Please help. I am new to fish keeping. I have a 55 gallon tank with 4 african cichlids. My tank is not cycled. When I first added the fish I had 3 cichlids and 1 pleco. I used Top Fin bacterial supplement and Top Fin declorinator. After a couple of day the fish 1 fish died. Then a couple of days later another died. I replaced with 2 more fish. Up to this point my water readings were all at zero (API freshwater master kit).

So, this past week, the ammonia started to rise to .25 which I believe is not good for the fish, but not deadly(nitrite still at zero). I have been doing daily water changes (10-15%) and started using Prime. After the first time using the Prime, they perked up and I thought they would be ok. However, the next day 1 of the fish died, and the rest are not looking good.

They are basically laying on the bottom of the tank. On one, the gills look red.
    Today I did a 30% water change, added Prime and they still look like they are on deaths door. Please help!

ps, none of the fish ever hovered at the tope of the tank gasping for air.

2. jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

You could possibly have a couple of problems. The fish could be feeling the effects of a cycling tank. For that (shy of returning the fish and going with a fishless cycle) all you can do is either daily water changes with Prime or add a bottle of SafeStart (but be sure to wait 24 hours after using Prime to add the Safestart to the tank. The Prime will interfere with the SafeStart.)

But it is possible that there are aggression issues. While I have no experiance with African Cichlids, from what I understand they are very aggressive and when housing them, it should be in an overstocked tank to help spread out the aggression.

Good luck!

3. pitbull_nc Member Member