Please Help needed quickly!

Gwenz
Ok, I came home from school today to find lots of little brown things in my 7.5gal with my guppie in. :-\ They seem to be on the glass and rocks and one seems to have attached itself to my guppie. He is swimming around darting quickly as if to try and get it off. I've no idea what to do! How do I help him?

All I know is that they werent there this morning, then they were all there this afternoon. I have to admit that I haven't done a water change recently due to having important exams at school but I will do one asap.

Was wondering is it worth moving him to the Q tank, so that I can do a thorough cleaning in the 7.5gal?

There is no filter in the Q tank, but I have a spare one and I could put filter media from my 15gal in there so it can be cycled. Is it worth doing this?

thanks

plz help asap.

Gwenz :'(

Angie
I am by no means a pro at this, but it sounds to me like worms. Here is something I got off here:

Anchor Worm or Lernaea - Symptoms: An ulcer develops where the worm attaches; secondary infections may also occur around that point.

So, I assume there is a medicine at the pet store to get rid of that. Like I said, I am a newbie at this, so someone with more experience can tell you better. If it was me, I would scoop all the things out, and do a water change and treat the whole tank. I know that people advise against 100% water changes, so I don't know about all that.

Sorry I couldnt be more help
Angie

By the way, when I did a search on here, I found an article from 10/06 where you had this same problem

What did you do then?

Angie

Gwenz
thanks. I don't know if I could scoop them out. they are tiny. Ill have to go to my lfs to find something to treat the tank. I was thinking of moving him incase more attached themselves to him :-\

thanks

Gwenz

By the way, when I did a search on here, I found an article from 10/06 where you had this same problem

What did you do then?

Angie