Please Help My Sick Betta

1. S

Stonebridge1212 New Member Member

Hello,

I'm new to owning fish and just recently bought my first betta fish. His name is Stonebridge. He was doing very great for the first week or so that I owned him then suddenly, he's not doing well.
    Before purchasing him, I cycled by 9 gallon planted tank for about 2 months (long time I know).
    My water parameters are all good and my temp is about 80 degrees.
    He used to be very active and spread his fins, but now he's sitting near the bottom of the tank and has clamped fins.
    I'm worried he may be constipated, since I've never noticed him pooping. My tank substrate is dark though.
    The area where his swim bladder would be located looks a little bit swollen, but his stomach does not to me.
    I've been feeding him once per day, mostly a small amount of frozen food (i.e. bloodworms or brine shrimp) once per day or pellets (about 4 per feed) but the pellets were rare since he didn't seem to like them. One day I tried feeding the pellets and he ate them right up. I'm worried that perhaps the pellets caused the problem. I didn't expect him to eat them right away I didn't soak them.(normally he lets them sink and eats them later)
    The next day after this, I noticed some swelling and lethargy.
    I haven't fed him anything since I noticed the symptoms about 3 days ago.
    I did some research and bought some epsom salt and frozen peas, but I'd like some opinions before I go ahead and start to treat him.
    I'd really appreciate any help that anyone can offer. I'm very worried about him, and I just wanted to give him the best life I could. I really hope I can do something to help him feel better.

Stonebridge when he seemed healthy (and my snail trying to escape)
    IMG_6411.JPG

How he looks currently. :(

IMG_6430.JPG

2. david1978

david1978 Fishlore VIP Member