Please help my betta's fins

1. Wren Initiate Member

Hi, I'm a novice to fish keeper who decided to buy her first betta tank a month ago. My mother use to keep fresh water tropical fish when she was a girl and I had been toying with the idea for a while and on the advise of my mother decided to start with betta.

on the 24th of May I purchases my tank from 'Pets at home' which is a large pet store here in the uk. The equipment and decorations I purchased where on the advise of the girl serving there.

The tank itself is a split 20 lt with heater and filter and a simple led lamp on top. I decorated this with gravel, pebbles and silk plants all brought from the store. I have recently purchased a perspex tube which I cut in half and have been using to form a sort of cave with the pebbles. This however is a very recent addition after the start of my woes :(

Photos:
    Tank: [​IMG]
    Filter: [​IMG]

After 8 days of running the tank with treated water I purchases my first betta (Iccy) from a breeder. I added the quick start and everything was going fine. 5 days after I purchased my second betta (Carl) from the same breeder and places him in the second half of the tank.

On the advise of the breeder I also added 1 level tsp of aquarium salt (dissolved) and half an Indian almond leaf to the tank.

All was well for a further 4 days then I decided to do a 25% water change using 2 2lt bottles of treated water I was keeping to the side.

The day after I noticed tears in Iccy's fins and could not find the cause of. I asked a friend who also keeps fish as well as the pet shop expert who both seemed to agree it looked like they had been nipped. Odd for a fish who was alone in his half of the tank.

I could not work out what had changed since the water change but assumed that maybe I had increased the water level in the tank and my other betta, Carl, was somehow nipping Iccy's fins through the slits in the top the the tank.