Please help molly problems!!

kenthebunni

I have a 20g tank with 4 Khuli loaches, 4 mollys 3 to 1 ratio (only one male) and one pleco who is still a baby I have a 80g tank cycling to move them eventually when it’s cycled but I’ve been having problems with the larger gold panda molly who I introduced to the tank with my black mollys which I’ve had since march and the male is also a gold panda I got them together, I noticed my black lyre tail mollys fins have been nipped at quiet a bit. The gold panda female constantly chases the other mollys away from algae wafers that I put in for the pleco and khuli loaches. As well as just chases them and nips in general. She’s the only one the male has tried to mate with also, Please help I’m really unsure what to do. I have a 5g tank that is cycled for emergencies btw!

Flyfisha

Hi kenthebunni
Welcome to fishlore.
I have zero experience with mollies but I have quite a few other livebears.

You have a cycled tank with enough bacteria for the bio load of the stocking you currently have .

You could move everything including all the filters gravel rocks ornaments etc into the bigger tank now as well as the filter media from the cycled 5 gallon.
In a few weeks time you could remove the ornaments rocks and mesh bag of gravel back out in to the 5 gallon. In a months time you could remove some media back into the 20 .
The 80g would give everyone room to spread out. I know google says mollies can go in a 10 gallon. However they are showing aggression already in the 20 . Sometimes google is just wrong they are 5 inch fish plus eventually.

If you are unsure about using media and filters from one tank to seed another start a new thread / question about it to get other peoples knowledge of something that is very common ( seeding filters)

Upvote 0

kenthebunni