Please help me. My betta may be sick- no pet stores open..city is under lockdown.

Tali4989

Reaction score
Please help! I'm a new fish owner and I'm 99.9% sure that my betta is sick because his fins are rotting! :'( I got him a little over a month ago and his fins were so lush and gorgeous when I got him but now they look so crippled and ripped. He also spends a lot of his time at the top of the tank. I have no idea what to do or why it's happening. I'm still learning how to take care of him. The problem is that I'm in New York and my city is under lockdown due to COVID19. No pet stores are open and Amazon is taking a month to deliver (they're not doing two day shipping right now). ANYTHING I try to order online is taking weeks to arrive. I ordered a five gallon tank for him on Amazon but it won't be here for another few weeks. He is in a 1.5 gallon tank right now with a filter and a heater. I've also ordered 9 in 1 aquarium test strips (tests pH, nitrate, nitrite, etc) but that won't arrive for a few weeks. I've also ordered indian almond leaf but that won't arrive for a few weeks either!!! I only have fish conditioner right now. I use Poland Spring water for his tank and change 1-2 cups of his tank water every day or at least every other day. I have no idea what to do. Until those things arrive in the mail, I need an immediate solution. I'm so scared he's suffering. Please help me with this. :(

Attachments

Dunk2

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
A 1.5 gallon tank is too small for most any fish.

Your profile says you’re not familiar with the nitrogen cycle, so I’d guess your tank isn’t cycled. Have you tested the water parameters at all?

Also, why are you using spring water in your tank?

Dunk2

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I just noticed that you said you ordered pH test strips. More importantly, you’ll need to test for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate.

I‘d recommend the API master test kit.

OP
T

Tali4989

Reaction score
Dunk2 said: