Please help me find out what kind of blue crayfish i have

1. Lux Initiate Member

Hello all,

I am a new member here and let me start off by saying you have a fantastic site. I'm new to the hobby (besides from a goldfish here and a beta fish there) when i was younger.

I decided to start a tank with two small cory catfish, when purchasing them i fell in love with this "blue lobster" that they had in the store. With his little claws pinching at me everytime i looked at the tank, how could i not. So i went home and researched combinations of fish and crayfish and the care for the last 10 days or so and yesterday i picked him up.

The guy at the pet store said he was a blue yabby from australia and not a blue lobster. I said "yes, he is a blue crayfish" then he argued the fact saying yabby is different from crayfish...instead of debating i smiled and took my new pet home. :;hug2

Long story short, ive looked all over the internet and it seems yabby and crayfish are the same thing as i thought, however the "blue crayfish" or "Procambarus alleni" is from florida and the "cherax desctructor" or "blue yabby" is from Australia.

I'm hoping you guys can help me determine what species it is. Im curious to also know if it is a male or female. I picked it up and flipped it upside down today and couldnt determine which sex it was by the pictures i've found on the internet. It then snapped its tail at me and shot some water in my face! So i figured "pinchy" wanted me to put him down. :;laughing

Enclosed is a picture. He is very small maybe 2 inches or so in length.

My setup is -
    4 very small tiger barbs (they were in the same tank in the store with him) and two small cory cat fish in the tank.

10 gallon tank with marine land led hood, 20 gallon aqueon filter, 3" disc air stone, 3 plants and some rock for him to hide under.