Please help me! Complete Novice! ICH

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by elismom122003, Jul 22, 2012.

1. elismom122003New MemberMember

So... I got my first tank about 2 weeks ago. It is 10 gallons and I went to petsmart.... Do not EVER go to petsmart for advice on starting a new tank (DUH)! I have since went to a local fish store. Well I went today anyways after my fish wound up having ich! The poor thing. She (so I say) is a black molly and last night I noticed white spots on her. I took a sample of my water to the local store and the nitrite levels are off the charts. This is my 100% fault because I was overfeeding them. I didn't realize this because I listened to some things that I had read online (everyone seems to say something different!) I did change the water. I probably changed about 7 of the 10 gallons and I used this product called Prime that the man at the store gave me. It only took 1 hour to be ready to add that water to the tank. Well I forgot like an idiot that I was supposed to add 1 Tbsp. of salt to this. Is it too late for me to just take out some water from the tank and dissolve the salt in this and then add it back to my tank? Also is this a good amount for a 10 gallon tank? So far my platy and my glowfish look fine, but I feel bad that my Molly is in pain. I am going to get a heater in the morning, because petsmart never told me that I needed to have one. I will increase the temp gradually to about 78. Does this sound like a good temp? I am just getting different numbers for everything everywhere I go and I don't want to kill my fish or cause them any pain. ALSO! I have noticed that my play especially has long white poop that is sometimes longer than her body. Is this the same parasite or normal or maybe some other parasite that I need to treat for? AH! So much to do for such tiny little creatures! Please help me!

2. elismom122003New MemberMember

Please?

3. Tigress HillWell Known MemberMember

4. saqibWell Known MemberMember