Please Help Me Before Its Too Late!!

dobsshan

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I have a Gourami and he had popeye from stress going into a new tank. I bought aquarium salt and it seemed to be working, but now my other fish are attacking his eye and it looks like its going to fall out! he really doesn't look good

I have two platys, 2 sword fin?? (female) an alge eater who minds his own business, and two plecos maybe? they are new to my tank and I am a newbie haha. They are striped with red tipped fins and they help keep my tank clean

It seems to me like the sword fin ones are going after him and I don't know what to do, if I take him out I would have to set up my old 10 G again and he may be dead by then.

I bought medicine from my local tropical fish store, I think it is called Melafix? I am on my 2nd day of treatment out of 7 days. It honestly seems like a lost cause to me, he has to be blind, can he still live? Is there anything I can do to stop my other fish?

One last question, my water is cloudy. I got it tested, everything is at good levels. I got the liquid you can add to help clear it -no success, I also tried these white almost filter material things you put in with your filter for a few hours but it didn't seem to work. I also did a water change. ???

JustinF

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
You could get a breeder net to kind of block off part of the tank for him and make sure there is no charcoal in your filter, I've heard it absorbs the meds. Sorry to hear about him, other than that there are a lot of good knowledgeable people on hear that probably have more answers.

LauraMillar

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years