Please HELP???!!! Its my first time....

Discussion in 'Breeding Fish' started by pesjss, Dec 8, 2012.

1. pesjssNew MemberMember

So I’m pretty sure my guppy is close to dropping her fry but this is my first time with all this so I’m not sure??? She’s quite big round the belly (looks boxy) and she stopped swimming around a lot two days ago and was hiding a lot. I moved her into a breeder box because all of my other guppies kept finding her and bugging her. She won’t eat and hardly swims around the box. Is she dying or in labor???

2. guppygrl

guppygrlValued MemberMember

Sounds like labour to me. I'm fairly new but I know they won't eat much when close. Do you have a picture of her? The rear will really look boxy.... and her gravid spot will be very dark.

Good luck... it's exciting isn't it!

3. OP
    OP
    p

pesjssNew MemberMember

She does not have a 100% all black gravid spot but I researched it and because of her colors her gravid spot can stay orange and she still can be prego. We are VERY excited:). My two oldest kids keep looking at the tank to see if there’s fry.

4. Gordinian

GordinianWell Known MemberMember

Sounds like you'll be having babies soon! Make sure to take the female out of the box after the babies are born, as some will eat their babies.

Make sure the water is clean!

5. OP
    OP
    p

pesjssNew MemberMember

Here are some picture of her...

Attached Files:

6. guppygrl

She's a very pretty fish!! My daughters love watching for babies! It causes them stress to put them in the breeder box so keep an eye on her. I'd think she'd drop soon.

Can't wait to hear about the new fry!

7. OP
    OP
    p

pesjssNew MemberMember

I can tell shes stressed but I'm afraid if I just let her in the main tank the others will bug her to death... :( Im sure it dont help she jumped out once and I had a male jump in the tank with her also. Idk how they did it...I dont have the tank to low or anything.

8. Gordinian