>>PLEASE HELP A FRUSTRATED BEGINNER!!<<

1. nap83 Initiate Member

I am very new at the hobby, and so far so good... I have 5 neon tetras, 2 albino corys, 2 sunset platys, 4 ghost shrimp, 2 snails, 4 danios, & a betta (I've moved him to a little tank since he got nipped by the danios!) in a 10 gallon tank.

here's the problem, I got the tank almost a month & a half ago with no idea what the term cycling was (I thought just treating the water would be just fine!!!) everything was fine until a week ago when it got extremely cloudy, so i cleaned the water out. amazingly non of the fish died, & they all seem happy but the water seems to be clouding up again. why did this happen so late? now i don't know what to do since I got all this fish crammed up in a tank!!

I love my fish & don't want to think about losing them, the reason why I started is to introduce myself to the hobby so I can get a 75 gallon for saltwater.

the burning question: CAN I CYCLE MY TANK WHILE THE FISH IS IN THERE?! IS THERE SUCH A PRODUCT THAT WILL NOT HARM THEM?!

PLEASE HELP I DON'T WANT MY FISH TO DIE!

2. fletch Member Member

the cloudiness is either a dirty filter or one which doesnt have much bacteria in it. Its advisable to cycle before you get any fish but it can be done with them. Just dont expect them all to survive. The best thing you can do is 50% water changes for the next week and put in some commercialy grown bacteria from your local shop. You cant ever overdose fish on this bacteria so put a capfull of 2 in each time you finish a water change

3. Craig Well Known Member Member