Please Give Advice

1. Patti_i4 Initiate Member

I hope someone can give me some good advice on what to do here. I manage an apartment complex in Wisconsin and a previous tenant abandoned a 30 gallon aquarium with 2 large angel type fish in it. The tank is horribly dirty but the fish are still alive. I've done a water change and cleaned the filter but seems like it is in such bad shape that it would be best to break the whole tank down and start over. I coincidently bought a tank and am in the process of cycling it.(3 weeks now.) What would be the best way to treat the fish in the other tank, transfer them to mine or try to clean the other tank? We will have to move the abandoned tank anyway but am wondering what the best way to do that would be. Would appreciate any advice that would help to save these fish. I'm new at this and am attempting to set up my first aquarium. Information is available to teach me this but not what to do with an abondoned slimy aquarium with fish in it. Thank you!

2. Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

Since you are going to have to move the fish anyway, take the filter media out of the dirty filter, rinse it in used tank water(I know it's dirty, but will preserve good bacteria) transfer the old filter and media to the new tank and move the fish into the new tank.
    This transfer of media and filter will finish cycling your tank, if in the future you want to replace the filter media only replace 1/2 at a time and about a month apart then you will be set for filter stuff for a long time. Just rinse it in used tank water about once a month there after. Hope that helps.
    Carol

3. Isabella Fishlore VIP Member