Please critique my stocking plan

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Heather M, Dec 15, 2012.

1. Heather M

Heather MWell Known MemberMember

I have a 20g high, which will be planted. The filter is an AquaClear 50. I have had bettas in the past, so stocking has never really been an issue. I'm fairly new to community tanks. I used AqAdvisor, which I have heard is not always accurate. Here is what I came up with:

1 Dwarf Gourami
    1 Male Guppy
    2 Female Guppies
    2 Male Platies
    5 Female Platies
    3 Horned Nerite Snails

Is this ok? If not, I'd appreciate suggestions!
    I have sand substrate. Should I get some MTS? By the way, please ignore my aquarium info. I haven't updated it in a long time. The tank is currently cycling.

2. Jaysee

JayseeFishlore LegendMember

To many livebearers! You'll be inundated with fry. I would stick with the guppies and ditch the platys.

Yes, definitely get mts. They are a benefit in every tank.

3. OP
    OP
    Heather M

Won't the dwarf gourami eat the fry? And I like platies more than guppies.

4. Jaysee

It'll eat some of them, but each female can pop out 30 every month. Even if most of them get eaten, you'll still wind up with too many.

If you like platys better go with platys. A 20 is the smallest tank I would keep them in, which is why I said guppies.

5. OP
    OP
    Heather M