Please Check my Stocking Plans (I’m a Beginner)

Megaanemp

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello,

I’m a total beginner. I’m doing a fish less cycle in my first tank, it’s a standard 75 gallon.
The tank will be planted.
Can someone with more experience check if my stocking plans are realistic?

Eventual stocking plans for planted 75 gallon with FX 4 Filter:

3x Honey Gourami
11x Harlequin Rasboras
9x Cherry Barbs
7x Otocinclus
11x Corydoras Sterbai
7x Kuhli loach
1x Bolivian ram

Will I be overstocked?

JettsPapa

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I don't believe you're overstocked, assuming you stock slowly, have adequate filtration, and plants for the fish to hide behind, but it's close. Are you sure you want kuhli loaches and corys? That's a lot going on at the bottom of the tank. I'd probably drop the loaches, but that's mostly personal preference.

OP
M

Megaanemp

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
JettsPapa said:
I don't believe you're overstocked, assuming you stock slowly, have adequate filtration, and plants for the fish to hide behind, but it's close. Are you sure you want kuhli loaches and corys? That's a lot going on at the bottom of the tank. I'd probably drop the loaches, but that's mostly personal preference.
Thanks for the reply, I’ll take that into consideration!

MacZ

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Please reconsider the Otos. They are not for a brand new tank. They are specialized feeders, a tank should be up and running at least 6 months. Also most often parasite ridden wild caughts, with a survival rate depending on the batch of sometimes even less than 10%.

Edit: I'd offer this stocking idea instead:

4 Honey Gourami
20 Harlequin Rasboras
15 Kuhli loaches

OP
M

Megaanemp

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
MacZ said: