Platy mating behavior

Discussion in 'Platy' started by Qat, Jul 26, 2015.

1. Q

Qat Valued Member Member

Last week I traded in all of my female guppies and fry for store credit. I replaced them with 1 sunburst Platy and 1 gold twin bar Platy. For reference, this is my first time having platies so I'm sure I have a lot to learn. It wasn't until I got them home that I realized I had gotten a male and a female! As of yet I haven't seen any behavior indicative of mating. They pretty much stay in different parts of the tank unless it's feeding time. Now my male tequila sunrise guppy, on the other hand, will not stop chasing my female Platy. I know they can't hybridize so I'm not worried about being overrun with "plappies". However I'm curious if this is normal. He pays no attention to the male Platy.

20 gallon
    3 male guppies, 1 male Platy, 1 female Platy, 1 ghost shrimp, 1 assassin snail

2. KarenLM

KarenLM Well Known Member Member

I have had platy males that seem to not be interested in the females and I have one that thinks about nothing else but mating!

With only one female it may be a good thing that he isn't harassing her. Usually you want at last two females to one male; even more females is better. I now have 1 male and 6 females - he "likes" them all and at least 5 are pregnant.

Edit: I am not familiar with guppies - hopefully yours won't harass her to death. Keep an eye on them - he may be curious because she is new to the thank.

3. Coradee

Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Male livebearers have one track minds, particularly guppies ime, & will try & mate with any females regardless of species.

4. OP
    OP
    Q

Qat Valued Member Member

Oh dear. At least it's just that one guppy and not all 3 of them. Like I said I'm a newbie with platies so it was difficult to see the caudal fins at the store. I don't know if they're similar to guppies in the size/color/shape aspect when it comes to sexing them. They all looked the same to me.

5. KarenLM