Platy fry and filter

Bijou88

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hi everyone! I'm new to fishlore but have been browsing for a couple weeks since I set up my 20 gallon. I have 4 platy fry in a 5g tank with an Aquatech 5-15 hob, after watching them fight the current for a few days I got a bit worried that the poor little guys would be sucked into the filter intake so I put a small piece of new/clean cheesecloth over the end, is this ok? Or would it be better to take it off and let them fend for themselves?

Vulpes

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Welcome to FishLore !!!

I would say to leave the cloth over the intake,just to prevent any risks of them being sucked into the filter and getting killed.

Divus

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I agree with Vulpes, leave the cloth over the intake as this will give the little guys more of a chance.

Sent from my C6903 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

Bijou88

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Thanks! That's sort of what I was thinking too, just not sure if the cheesecloth will deteriorate or not, I guess I'll wait and see.

Bijou88

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Quick update now that's it's been a few days, in the future I would recommend against using cheesecloth, it gets disgusting. I'm now using a piece of plastic mesh doubled over, let's hope it works better. fwiw.

aHumanBeing

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Pick up some filter floss, cut it into a little rectangle and wrap it around the intake. Then secure it with a rubber band or a some string. It will prevent them from getting sucked in. As a bonus it will collect bacteria on it and you'll have a bit more beneficial bacteria in the tank
floss.jpg

nicole4434

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years