Platy chasing my Dwarf Gourami

shaf

Hello to everyone,

I am new to this forum as well as having this hobby. My previous homeowner left me a 55 Gallon tank with 6 fishes in it. After two weeks of moving into the new place, I found that two of the inhabitants (two small tetras) disappeared. After speaking to some guys at a local aquarium store, I found that it was the doing of the kissing gourami that I had. I rehomed it and the large pleco that was in it. Then I studied and waited for few days to bring in 6 platies (2 m & 4 fm), 1 swordtail (m) and two mollies (1 of each sex). I just brought 3 dwarf gouramis (1 m & 2 fm) today after more than a week after I brought the last platies and noticed that one of the platies is continuously chasing one of the female DG and nipping her. Is there any particular reason for this behavior? What should I do in this case?
Thanks everyone.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year in advance.

jinjerJOSH22

Hi, welcome to the forum and happy holidays to you too

Livebearers seem to be jerks at times, not that I have much experience with them but that often seems to be the case.
As for what to do, I think wait and see if it calms down for a week or so, fish will often be quite curious to things added to their tank and unlike Gourami(who have a modified ventral fin) they only have their mouths to investigate things.

A picture of the tank and fish might help. I would also like to see a picture of the female Dwarf Gourami. Depending on where you are in the world females can be fairly hard to come by and males are often sold as females.

kallililly1973

We tried a powder blue Gourami in a heavily planted 55 but the Mollys chased it constantly n eventually stressed it to death... I know not the same a platy but I’m would think similar. Also I’m surprised your fish store friend didn’t tell you that multiple dwarfs can sometimes be an issue. That’s about all I can help with if that’s even any help at all ... sorry for the typos

shaf