Platy being bullied

1. Dozr3544 Initiate Member

I have 3 platy in a 10 gallon with 6 tetras and 1 catfish. There are 2 female platy and one male. Recently the male is swimming on the bottom and his back fins are all tattered. The 2 females are new. I've had the male for a few months. Is it possible that the females are bullying the male? If so what should I do? I don't have a quarantine tank. I'm new to having an aquarium and I didn't realize the importance of having one until I needed one. I feel so bad I'm sorry my fish have to pay the price for me learning as I go. Is there anything I can do to save my platy? Everyone else seems fine. Thanks for any advice anyone has. I appreciate it!

2. maggie thecat Well Known Member Member

It is definitely possible. How planted and decorated is your tank? Adding more sight breaks may help ease the tension

Or if you have a breeder net you can hang it and put the male in it so that he can rest away from the bully and heal.

Identifying the bully would be good. If it's one of the new fish then perhaps it could be exchanged for one that is less aggressive. Or, you could put her in the breeder's net and give her a time out. Sometimes (not always) that works wonders.

3. Five 97 Well Known Member Member

Welcome to fishlore!
    I don't think it's the other platies that are bullying, what type of tetras, and catfish are you talking about?

4. Dozr3544 Initiate Member

Thanks for the help! I put him in a small floating box that I had with a piece of plastic plant but then I let him out as he kept swimming into the sides and I thought being confined was stressing him out. But probably putting him in and taking him out was more stress than just being in the box. I think I'll put each new female in a it's own breeder net as I don't know which one is the bully and I might not have enough time to figure it out before they harass the male to death. Thanks again for the advice!

5. maggie thecat Well Known Member Member