Plants 20 Gallon Tank

1. DreamingAngel Member Member

hi, I am looking for some beginner plants that can survive an LED fish tank hood, I'd like to try java moss, Anubias, Pogostemon, horn root Willow Moss Water Wisteria Marsilea minuta any suggestions for a newbie? also do I need anything else for the plants plant food dirt ect? I am having some issues with ammonia my tank isn't 100% I can't shake the ammonia out of the tank, was told plants help with lowering the ammonia, and if so, which plant (plants) would be safe in a semi unstable tank that can help with the ammonia spikes thank you, I'm very new to plants they always die on me :(

2. James17 Well Known Member Member

Start with some Wysteria, it will grow anywhere.
    I use some Flourish Tabs at the base of some plants.

3. DreamingAngel Member Member

thank you, think I might give that one try :) going over to lfs see what they have

4. -Mak- Well Known Member Member

For a light that comes with the tank, pogostemon species likely won't work out for you. Also probably not the marsilea.

5. DreamingAngel Member Member

Thanks for the tips

6. spreizfus Member Member

I tried water wisteria, but it didn't work for me. I don't think it got enough light. My java fern and anubius nana are doing great though. Since then I started running my led lights about 5 hours a day, but now I have a bunch of hair algae. Got to find a balance here. Thinking about getting amano shrimps, but these two plants do great without much light!

Edit: So sorry, it was anacharis that didn't work for me. Not sure what went wrong. Try running my your light on a timer.

7. spreizfus Member Member

I was hoping the plants would help lower my nitrate levels, but I've since read that in order to accomplish this they have to have enough light. Catch 22 with the algae!

8. DreamingAngel Member Member

I ended up getting 2 Anacharis plants. lfs said they good for beginners, hopefully they are right :)

9. spreizfus Member Member