10 Gallon Tank Plants not getting enough light, need hood

Satsvsga

So I have a 10g tank with 6 fish(3 white skirt tetras, 3 zebra danios) and 1 nerite snail. I recently added some live plants, its my first time. I added 2 java ferns attached to rocks and dwarf sagittaria to the bottom. My substrate is soil. I don’t have CO2 injection but I’m using Seachem Excel at the suggested doses every day. I am also using Seachem Flourish for nutrition.

5 days to a week and my sagittaria are starting to get a yellow/brownish color. I suppose its because they don’t get enough light. I have the default hood with fluorescent lighting that came out of the kit.

I just ordered the Aqueon LED Deluxe Hood but the LED light on it seems even weaker than the fluorescent lights I was using.

I need to have a hood because I have a cat in the apartment. Do you have any recommendation on another hood with stronger light or do I need to ditch the hood?

Crimson_687

I would say get a light that is as strong as you need (LED strips are affordable and should fit under your hood) then use silicone as an adhesive. It will be aquarium safe and water resistant so evaporated water that condensed on the hood will not damage the adhesive.