Plants for a Low-Tech 29 Gallon Jack Dempsey Tank?

Bry

So, the only plants I have successfully kept is Anachris Elodea(spelling?), Dwarf Lilys, and Java Ferns.
What I have is a 29 gallon tank, with small gravel about 2-3 inches deep, driftwood which has leaked some tannins that I'm not mad about, a Sun-Glo bulb-ed light. Stocked with 2 clown plecos, a dozenish Ghost Shrimp and a baby Electric Blue Jack Dempsey (he's about an inch). I do have a bottle of Excel plant fertilizer.
I currently have two bulbs of dwarf lilys that are doing pretty well, but I want something green and bushy/leafy to put around the driftwood. I was looking at maybe some Madagascar Lace plants? I do like the Java Ferns I have in my 55, but I want something... textured? More interesting? But I'm new to plants so I don't know what would suit the kind of environment/lowtech.
Any advice is appreciated! I've heard that reddish plants are harder to keep?
I've added a few different plants to my Watchlist on Ebay, if I listed them would it help? Could someone tell me if I could keep them?

jake37

First don't use excel to 'fertilize' your plants. It is more of an algae killer than a fertilizer.

Not sure i would put a madagascar lace plant with your fish - first they prefer temp on the cooler side (mid 70's work better than high 70's or 80's); but also they are a little bit fragile - mine never could make it with the clown loaches constantly bumping it.

sword plants are pretty robust - as long the fish doens't decide to eat every leaf i'd start with those - some of them are pretty nice - i just a nice red melon (I know you want green). You could also try a rosette sword - these are small very green sword plants with some texture. They won't outgrow a 29. Only trick is making sure they can get established before he digs them up.
-