Plants dying and green hairy algae during fishless cycle

heihaci

Newbie here and generally clueless when I decided we should get some fish for the kids. So I've got a 54L tetra starter line tank and followed their video. Put in their active substrate and planted some rosaefolia(randomly picked from ebay) and placed javafern on bogwood.

After reading about fishless cycling and nitrogen cycle (I have no access to established media), I started adding ammonia using the Mr Tim's method and products the rosaefolia keep dying. It's nearly been two weeks since I've started cycling not there yet my Ammonia goes down to 0.2ppm but nitrites will go just under 1 and nitrates about 30ppm.

However, I've started noticing hairy green algae starting to develop on plastic internal filter casing and on the rosaefolia leaves and on a bit on the bogwood.
I've now stopped putting on the led lights on.

I feel that i need to get rid of the hairy algae before it gets worse. should i start doing water changes and take out the dying rosaefolia and javafern on bogwood?
Would scraping the algae off the filter casing disrupt the beneficial bacteria that converts nitrites and ammonia? I read that this bacteria develops on surfaces and shouldn't be disturbed? I dont want to stall the fishless cycle

Also read somewhere fishless cycle shouldn't be done in a planted aquarium so i assume I should add plants after cycle is complete?

I have to say this is a really frustrating process and my patience being tested so have now newfound respect for fish keepers....

dying plants

20220118_222300.jpg

Azedenkae

I feel that i need to get rid of the hairy algae before it gets worse. should i start doing water changes and take out the dying rosaefolia and javafern on bogwood?
Water changes are not necessary, but yes you can and should take out the dying plants.