Planting In An Existing Aquarium?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by Duardo, Apr 14, 2018.

1. Duardo

Duardo Valued Member Member

So first and foremost I'm new to the hobby so I apologize for any ignorance!
    Now to my question, how should I go about planting in my existing aquarium? I bought a couple of plants after doing a decent couple of days of research and bought anubis nana, windelov java fern and Cardinal plant. Now this is why my research was only decent. I am not sure on how to take care of these plants because I only have gravel in my tank currently and I do not have anything for CO2 injections or plant food.
    • I wanted to fill half my tank with sand because I have a couple of albino corys and one of them lost it's barbels and hurt his fin so I wanted soft substrate so they can be more comfortable but now I see I might need to get plant substrate and not just sand.
    • Apart from this I do not have any driftwood or rocks but plan on buying some eventually and I do not have a light on my tank nor a hood since my tank didnt come with this originally.
    My plan with the plants was to carpet the bottom, which from what I have gathered is planting a lot of little plants and letting them spread across the bottom, and to do this I need a bright light. I also wanted to use the plants to lower my nitrate and nitrite levels since my tank is at full capacity (I have 5 neon tetras, 2 albino corys & 1 betta- yes they all get along very well-) But to deal with this I have a Whisper 20i to compensate and do weekly water changes. ​
    So I was wondering how would a beginner go about planting in an exsiting tank, what are some good not to expensive substrates, are CO2 injections imperative to plant growth, and did I choose a good carpeting plant? As well as any tips or advice would be welcomed.